The William Allitt School

The William Allitt School

Learning Without Limits

Governing Body


Our School Governors


Meet the Governors

Alan Jones

Alan Jones is a retired environmental physics researcher who lives in Midway. He came to South Derbyshire 40 years ago to work in the coal industry investigating workplace dust and noise. More recently he has worked at the University of Birmingham analysing and reviewing data on air pollution from vehicles and incinerators, and on bio-aerosols. Between 1989 and 2009 he was a member of Derbyshire County Council.

Kirk Hookham

Whilst a co-opted Governor at The William Allitt School, Kirk is Deputy CEO at South Staffordshire College.  His role includes responsibility for the college’s curriculum offer spanning Key Stage 5 16-18 year olds, adults and apprentices, quality improvement, learner services as well as marketing and PR.  He also represents the West Midlands on a Further Education National Curriculum Reform group.

Kirks experience in education spans over 30 years in further education from a teacher to departmental manager and now Senior Leader.  He is also Chair of a Local Governing Body for an Academy in Staffordshire.  His particular skills relate to curriculum design and quality improvement. He has also led colleges through Ofsted inspections and monitoring visits.

Ian Bottrill

Ian lives locally and is Company Secretary of Sharpe’s Pottery Heritage and Arts Trust and Vice Chair of ‘Swad in Bloom’. Ian is also Director of ‘Learning for Leadership Cymru’ (since 2014), lead tutor on the Welsh Leadership Academy and an advisor to the Welsh Local Government Association and previously to the LGA (on leadership and community engagement) and Welsh Government (on the community use of school buildings, local government governance and safeguarding). Ian was a County Councillor in Warwickshire from 1980-2005, Chair of the Education Committee (1985-89) and Leader of the County Council from 1993 until 2005. Ian was previously a teacher, Pastoral Head and then Head of Faculty in a large inner city comprehensive school (from 1972-2000) and Operations Manager then Director of Operations for a nationwide Community Education Charity (2000-2014). Ian has a B.ED Hons in Education, Sociology and Geography from Nottingham University (1972).

Nicola Lees

With 19 years experience in the establishment and implementation of economic development and regeneration strategies, projects, programmes and partnerships attracting investment, improving skills and employment and creating change. Alongside this I’ve helped and inspire thousands of individuals and businesses to learn, develop and grow.

My passion is bringing people together to form relationships, influence change and drive innovation. Facilitating introductions is at the heart of what I do. So that we can all build a stronger economy that is inclusive and benefits everyone who lives and works in the region.


Proposed Meeting Dates 2021/22


Contact the Governing Body:

By Email:


By Post:

Chair of Governors

The William Allitt School

Sunnyside - Newhall



DE11 0TL